Postcards Of Scarecrows Taking Over Friday Bridge In Cambridgeshire

Scroll down to content

A few weeks ago we were driving through Friday Bridge in Cambridge and I suddenly had a feeling something was going on when I saw the first scarecrow sitting at a table baking a cake.  It was the first year that Friday Bridge with the adjoining village of Elm were holding a scarecrow competition combined with a yard sales.   We drove through at about 8.00 am and the place was heaving, so we made a mental note to come back later in the day, as I wanted to take some photos.  We returned later on in the afternoon, it was still very busy, which was a good thing because they raised £476.00 for the East Anglian Air Ambulance.

DSC_0266 - Version 2

I have a feeling this is going to be a re-occurring event and will only get better with time, as I really didn’t see many scarecrows in Elm, maybe I was looking in the wrong places.  The other good thing was the church was open in Friday Bridge, this is always locked, but the churchyard was being used for stalls, so we had a quick look inside.

Friday Bridge has an interesting clock tower and a marvellous fish and chip shop, there is also a huge brick built water tower which I must research about.  I quite like the idea of recording this first venture and hopefully it will carry on and become a tradition.

6 Replies to “Postcards Of Scarecrows Taking Over Friday Bridge In Cambridgeshire”

  1. Hello Lynn, I really do enjoy these scarecrow contests that are held in various villages~ so much inventiveness both in concept and execution (the clever use of different materials) one of my favorites was one that somebody had made of “Nora Batty”standing with broom at the top of a flight of stone steps and “Compo’ at the bottom attempting to woo her. Really very well done and amusing~ I saved the photo somewhere ,of course many more amusing and clever ones but cannot immediately call them to mind. These were jolly to see. Thank you for sharing yet another aspect of life in your corner of the world. Especially fun when you are not expecting them.

    1. Hello Valkrye, so glad you liked the scarecrows, I thought that they were a bit of fun as well. The Nora Batty one sounds wonderful, I will have to keep a look out for some more 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.