A Copenhagen Font in Barmouth, Wales

Scroll down to content

DSC_0314

We caught the train from Harlech to Barmouth in Wales today so we could walk over the rail bridge at Barmouth and to visit the church on the hill in the town centre.  I am only going to concentrate on the font in this post as I need to research the church later.

We climbed up the hill to The Church of St John the Evangelist, which did get quite steep in some places, but we got great views over Barmouth and eventually worked out how to get in to the church.

DSC_0249

On entering the church the first thing you see and could not really miss is the beautiful Copenhagen Font.

DSC_0317

This font is a free-copy of the font designed by Bertel Thorwakisen for the Copenhagen Cathedral (Vor Frue Kirke) around 1820.

DSC_0315

The Copenhagen Font design has been copied numerous times around the world, 3 in the USA, 2 in Scotland, 1 in England, I in Ireland and this one in Wales.

DSC_0264

The copy held in this church was created in 1894 by the firm D & A Davidson of Academy Street in Inverness, Scotland.

Its quite awe inspiring when you come into the church and see it for the first time, its quite large but then the church is on the large size so it doesn’t look out of place.  I think it would be amazing to be baptised from this beautiful font.

6 Replies to “A Copenhagen Font in Barmouth, Wales”

  1. That’s rather lovely, I haven’t seen anything quite like that one. I’ve been collecting a few fonts for you on my travels. Having enjoyed your ‘font of the day’ I found myself going into churches and thinking ‘ooh Blosslyn would like that one’ 🙂

    1. Oh can’t wait to see them, I should think they would be slightly different from ones around this part of the country. Sometimes they seem to be neglected and covered in ‘things’ and I just think that font is well over 500 years old and it should take pride and place, at least dust it 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.